## **Optional description of NCAA Divisions**

The National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA) is divided into three divisions and oversees a wide range of collegiate sports. Division I schools have to sponsor more sports teams. These schools tend to be large universities with large athletic budgets supplemented by revenue from the games. They must offer athletic scholarships. Division II schools tend to be the smaller public universities and many private institutions. They have much smaller budgets that come solely from the college. The NCAA limits the amount Division II colleges can spend on athletic scholarships. Division III consists of colleges and universities that treat athletics as an extracurricular activity for students, instead of a source of revenue. These institutions do not offer athletic scholarships.