Cuyamaca College President's Outstanding Leadership and Service Award


Cuyamaca College has talented and dedicated classified professionals whose work is essential to achieving our college's mission and strategic goals. The Cuyamaca College President’s Outstanding Leadership and Service Award recognizes the outstanding contributions of classified professionals.


The 2023 President's Outstanding Leadership and Service Award winners are Rafael Ayala and Derek Bertram!


Rafael Ayala


Derek Bertram


Award recipients:

  • Rafael Ayala and Derek Bertram, 2023
  • Sara Allen, 2022
  • Katie Cabral, 2021
  • April Holman, 2020
  • Lekaa Yaldekko, 2019
  • George Attar, 2018

Chancellor and Classified Senate Award


This annual award recognizes one exceptional Classified Professional at each of the district sites: Cuyamaca College, Grossmont College and District Services. Recipients are announced at the May Governing Board meeting and receive a $250 gift card and an inscribed trophy.


The 2024 Chancellor and Classified Senate Award recipient for Cuyamaca College is Hiam Abdulahad (pictured below, center)! Learn more about Hiam's accomplishments here.


2024 Chancellor & Classified Senate Award Winners


The 2023 Chancellor & Classified Senate Award winner for Cuyamaca College was Raul Enciso. Taylor Fiehler-Roose was recognized with honorable mention. Learn more about past Chancellor and Classified Senate Award recipients here.


GCCCD Chancellor and Classified Senate Award Winners 2023


CCCCO Board of Governors Classified Employee of the Year Award


The Classified Employee of the Year Award was established through a resolution at the May 2008 Board of Governors Meeting. The award has been presented annually since May 2009 to honor community college classified employees who demonstrate the highest level of commitment to the Vision for Success, the mission of the California Community College System and their local district. Recipients are nominated by members of their college/district community and endorsed by the local Board of Trustees. Award recipients are selected by representatives from the California Community Colleges Board of Governors, Consultation Council and the Chancellor’s Office. Katie Cabral (pictured below, center) was recognized with this award in 2022. 

CCCCO Board of Governors Classified Employee of the Year 2022 Katie Cabral


California Community Colleges Classified Senate (4CS) Awards


The 4CS supports three annual awards that are recognized during the Classified Leadership Institute each year in June. Learn more about each award and past recipients here.

  • The 4CS Classified Senate President Service Award recognizes Classified Senate Presidents for outstanding service. Cuyamaca College's Classified Senate President Katie Cabral won this award in 2023!
  • The 4CS Excellence in Servant Leadership Award recognizes individuals who enrich the lives of individuals, build better organizations, and ultimately create a more just and caring environment.
  • The 4CS Classified Senate Website Award recognizes the best three classified senate websites based on criteria in the areas of resources, materials, photos, navigation ease, and appearance. Cuyamaca College's Classified Senate Website won first place in 2023!
  • The 4CS Model Classified Senate Award recognizes organizations that exercise their role in shared or participatory governance with autonomy and professionalism, and encourage the growth and strengthening of classified leaders.